Cheap cameras are getting better?

Thread: Cheap cameras are getting better?

Chillin'

Default Cheap cameras are getting better?

First off: I am no expert in filming and anything that has to do with it, I just have a common technical understanding. So maybe I'm just totaly wrong with everything that come now.

So I want to get into filming and checked Amazon for some camcorders. As I expected they were not realy cheap (Atleast for a student). Randomly I found that a local store sells a camera this week 50% off (100 instead of 200)

It's not a brand (It's a "Jay-tech") but it got these specs:
    -HD Video
    -Res: 1280x720
    -7x optic zoom, 120x digital zoom
    -30 fps in Full HD; 60 fps in HD720
    -NO Image stabilization (I guess this is important for filming while skating?)

(Heres the link, for some more specs. It's german, but you should be able to read them out: http://www.jay-tech.de/jaytech/servl...355e604c:-7bbc)

What do you guys think of it? I don't need a cam for professional filming, I just want something for me. To check my process in skating and stuff like this.

яussian

It will probably be OK, but as with all cheaper cameras, it's going to have a few downfalls. Usually there's bad low light performance, aliasing, and chromatic aberration. For 100 euros, I'm guessing it's a pretty good deal, but honestly, I'd rather go for a branded camera (canon, sony, panasonic, jvc) because you know what you're getting with them.

Chillin'

Quote Originally Posted by Nitro View Post
    It will probably be OK, but as with all cheaper cameras, it's going to have a few downfalls. Usually there's bad low light performance, aliasing, and chromatic aberration. For 100 euros, I'm guessing it's a pretty good deal, but honestly, I'd rather go for a branded camera (canon, sony, panasonic, jvc) because you know what you're getting with them.